Who’s giving you advice?

There is some irony to the fact that a majority of columns or blogs I read concerning the Millennial Generation are being composed by individuals not in Gen Y. While we appreciate your insight into how we don’t work hard and only care about advancement, how do you know? Now I suspect that perspective from those outside of our generation is good, they’ve been there before, right? They’re the people hiring us, right? The answer to both of those questions is yes.

However, it still puzzles me because you grew up in a different decade… the math classes my dad took in college? I took my first year in high school. I did a senior project on the effects of carbon dioxide on the environment and techniques being used to curb the damage that has been done. Do you think when my parents were my age they thought “green” jobs would even exist or what that even meant? Let me just clarify that I believe my parents to both be very intelligent individuals who both grew up in poverty and got out. But, the education systems and times they grew up in were set in stone for them. It’s just how things were… then but, now? You can’t tell me that with every new generation there is not some sort of shift in expectations.

To write a research paper I am 99.9% sure I never used an actual tangible book to cite quotes from during my college career. Kids now-a-days? They won’t even touch one in elementary school. Gen Y is a product of the decades we’ve been brought up in and the media that infiltrates our televisions, computers, and smart phones. Talking heads in Gen X and Baby Boomers can think all they want about our inability to transition into the workforce. As stated in my previous blog If you’re a Millennial, you’re starting behind, it is up to our generation to squash that stigma.

Listen to yourself, hard work comes from you. Millennials are intelligent, whether we use that brain power to sell a copy machine for your company or create a parody Twitter account for our dog, it’s up to us. But, I can say that  Millennials in the job market can bring an incredible amount of talent to your company. The brightest and most innovative young minds, they’re not 32… they’re 22. Remember that.

IF Gen Y is willing to work, are you willing to give this wave a chance? As mentioned on the Today Show, half of new grads are jobless or underemployed. As the number of jobs continues to shrink with the avid use of outsourcing to other countries as well as “doing more with less” due to the rapid growth of technology, it takes more than just showing up for an interview or peddling your resume praying for that interview.

Call to action: Gen Y – you can add value to companies out there, show them.

One comment

  1. Dial Gap

    I agree with you that the perception that MIllennials don’t work hard is a “warn out” view. In todays market place getting a job and working hard to keep it is at their forefront
    of thought.

Leave a Reply

